Poor Houses and Poor Law

In 1838, the Poor Law act divided Ireland into 159 districts called poor law unions. A workhouse was established in each union to provide for the poor.

Records on the poor are found in board of guardian minutes, in workhouse registers, and in British Parliamentary Papers (unpublished).

Some poor law registers have been filmed through the LDS Church.



 Back to the Resource Index or Return Home

© 1997-2001. The IrelandGenWeb Project.